Mixed Messages: Noticing Signs and Forcing the Magick

angel-1500972_960_720
[Visual Description: An aged angel statue covered in moss and surrounded by plants and greenery.]

When it comes to signs, it’s easy to fall into the habit of moving so fast in our day-to-day as to miss them completely. The subtleties go completely unnoticed by us and when we’ve asked our guides and guardians for answers, we start to feel like we’ve been abandoned.

Those with more experience that have had the opportunity to form stronger bonds with these beings may be brought to notice these small cues quite easily, but the rest of us are simply not there yet. How we respond to this differs from witch to witch. When it comes to recognizing signs, I like to follow the approach of Signe of Walking With Tricksters and “troubleshoot” the situation using her Rule of Three:

“If something happens more than three times in a row, I will tentatively assume that it is not a perfectly ordinary event and consider investigating it further. Less than three, and it’s not worth paying attention to.”

For me, there are exceptions to this such as when you get an intuitive pull about something and that’s a skill I have had to learn to trust over time, but this rule applies to my practice 9 times out of 10 as I am still developing my intuition.

Unfortunately, there are those that feel the need to overcompensate.

Signe refers to them as “fluffy bunnies”—witches who presume every single thing that happens to be of magickal or divine significance. I wish I couldn’t say I knew people like this, but I can. However, this goes beyond bashing those still working on developing their intuition. There are very real dangers to misinterpreting or forcing signs and messages from the divine.

tarot-1775322_960_720.jpg

[Visual Description: A deck of tarot cards spread out next to a pile of crystals, a cloth bag, and a pendulum.]
The Dangers of Forcing Signs

It may seem quite humorous at first, but forcing yourself to see signs that aren’t there can come with a great deal of consequences. When we talk about “signs”, we mean to say messages from higher beings, mystical cues from our guides, or even hints from the Universe itself. These messages are what we use to reaffirm that we are on the right track in the various paths in our lives, tracks that will lead us to serve our highest good. When we force ourselves to see signs that aren’t there, we run the danger of mistaking these cues and either continuing to make destructive decisions or beginning to make them.

Not to mention the disservice you are doing to your intuition!

Believe it or not, just because someone forces signs in their life doesn’t mean that they entirely lack intuition. Actually, this is most likely an indicator that this person believes that they lack it and so they try to overcompensate by forcing themselves to believe in signs that aren’t actually there.

Intuition plays an important role in all forms of magick, especially divination, and doubting in it can only cause harm to you and your spiritual path.

Trust me, I know it’s hard to feel powerless—especially as a witch. But that doesn’t mean you have to shoehorn signs into your life to feel that power. Practice tuning your intuition. When you have a strong instinct about a person or situation, trust in it.

Don’t be so caught up in the fake signs that you don’t notice the very real ones.

Author: NoahMilan

Noah is a jack of art trades based in Gardena, California. He is an illustrator, a storyteller, an intersectional feminist, and one of the most queer people you will ever meet. He is also a creative writer with a passion for mental health advocacy and gender and racial justice.

3 thoughts on “Mixed Messages: Noticing Signs and Forcing the Magick”

  1. oooh really good topic and a really interesting post! I do believe that everything happens for a reason, although I take that with a grain of salt — not everything happens for a super vitally important life changing reason every time. I am totally hardwired to be one of those fluffy bunnies so I try really hard whenever an animal crosses my path or something odd or interesting happens in the day to day to pause and tap in to my intuition and ask — is this actually resonating with me? if so, why do I think that is?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely hear ya about being hardwired to be that way, I’m totally the same but I’m trying to be more conscious of it now–lest I miss the important messages from my guardians/matron 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

